Green Bay— The Dallas Cowboys lost Sunday’s divisional playoff game 26-21 to the Green Bay Packers.
The play that everyone has been talking about is the Dez Bryant almost catch on the 1-yard line, on 4th and 2, in the 4th quarter, that would’ve given Dallas a great chance to go ahead.
Just in case you missed it, here is the video.
– Dez Bryant caught the ball.
– Then took three steps.
– Then was tripped up while landing.
– Then lunged forward toward the goal line. (Check the video again. It’s a clear lunge because the grass on the field by Bryant’s cleats is kicked up as he was diving for the endzone.)
– Then he slammed the ball on the one-yard line trying to score a touchdown.
The call on the field was a catch.
Then the call was reversed and the refs said he never had possession of the ball, therefore when it hit the ground it was incomplete.
What constitutes as having possession? 2 steps? 3 steps? A more stretched out dive for the end zone?
Is it just a judgement call?
Was he moving too fast for the ref to understand he had possession?
There’s too much grey area in this call.
Now here is the rule that the ref’s used to overturn the called catch on the field.
“If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.”
This is called the “process rule” but also known by many as the “Calvin Johnson rule.
In a week 1 game in 2010 against the Bears, this happened.
Not the same play at all but the results were the same.
Calvin Johnson was in the endzone and falling down when he made his catch, but Dez was going toward the endzone when he made his.
The rule seems to apply to Calvin’s more than Dez’s because Dez seemed to have possession then dive forward, opposed to Calvin’s catch when he was in the process of going to the ground.
And if there was such an uproar years ago when Calvin Johnson’s catch got overturned, then why is the rule still the same?
Does the NFL think the fans enjoy these types of calls?
I’m sure Packers fans loved the call, but any unbiased fan knows that this rule is incorrect. If you’ve ever played football then you should know that when you catch the ball and run with it, it’s a catch.
The call is what it is, and there’s no changing it now. But the rule can and should be changed in the future to eliminate this kind of ending to such a great game.
Thanks for reading.